Book Review: Beautiful Creatures

Name: Beautiful Creatures

Author(s): Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Series Standing: Book one (Beautiful Creatures series)

What It’s About: Ethan lives in the small, backwater southern town of Gatlin, South Carolina, where everyone over sixty still calls the Civil War the War of Northern Aggression. During the day he dreams of leaving the town far behind. During the night he dreams of a mysterious girl he loves but always loses. Then Lena Duchannes moves to town and is immediately shunned by all (except Ethan) for being the town shut-in, Old Man Ravenwood’s niece. Strange things happen with Lena around, only further separating her from the others. Ethan and Lena grow to be friends, and eventually something more. But there is something more to Lena than meets the eye. She has powers. And on her sixteenth birthday, which is fast approaching, she will be claimed by Light or Dark, Good or Evil. Or will she be able to decide her own fate?

My Review: I don’t know why I never read this book before! I loved the story, and the characters were all well developed. This was a long book, over 500 pages, but I never got tired of reading it. The ending had a twist that surprised me, as well as a death that made me truly sad. This was a well written book that you will get absorbed in and I would definitely recommend it.

Re-Readability: Medium to High. It would have been Very High if it wasn’t so long. And this isn’t the kind of book where you can just flip back to your favorite parts.

Quotes

“A little known fact about me: I read all the time. Books were the one thing that got me out of Gatlin, if only for a little while. I had a map on my wall, and every time I read about a place  wanted to go, I marked it on the map.”

“Everyone actually stepped aside when she walked down the hall. Like she was a rock star. Or a leper.”

“There was only one word to describe the scene when I arrived at the Sisters’ house. Chaos. Aunt Mercy answered the door, hair still in rollers.”

Find This Book On: Barnes & Noble/Amazon/Goodreads

Leave a Reply

