Book Review: The Raven Boys

Name: The Raven Boys

Author(s): Maggie Stiefvater

Series Standing: Book one (Ravens Cycle series)

What It’s About: Blue is the only one in a family of psychics who can’t predict the future, she can only make their powers stronger. And all her life she has heard the unanimous prediction that if she were to kiss her true love, he would die. Then one year on St. Marks Eve, when joining her Aunt Neeve in watching for the spirits of those who will be dead within the year, she actually spots one of the ghosts (which she never has before.) He is about her age, and says his name is Gansey. Blue can’t help but wonder if this mysterious Gansey could be her true love, for Aunt Neeve says that is the only reason she would see him, other than if she kills him. Meanwhile, oblivious to his impending doom, Gansey is obsessed with his supernatural infused search for the long lost Glandower, who mysteriously disappeared long ago. He unknowingly contacts Blue’s family to consult with them on one of the main points of his search, ley lines. From this crucial point, Blue slowly becomes friends with Gansey and his buddies, angry Ronan, silent Noah, and struggling Adam (who has more problems than money.) She joins them on their quest of sorts, but things start getting out of hand. An older ley lines fanatic wants to be the one who controls their power… and he’s not afraid of killing to do it.

My Review: At first, I wanted so bad to rate this book as high! Sure, there was some profanity, and the teeny tiniest bit of suggestive content, but it wasn’t so much that I couldn’t overlook it. The pacing and writing just picked me up and carried me away. I sped through it. It was the ending however, that stopped me short. I believe that an ending should provide an at least temporary sort of satisfaction, even the despised cliffhangers ought to make you want to read the next book. But this book, literally on the last few lines, threw in a twist that…

  • Didn’t seem necessary.
  • Came out of nowhere, with absolutely no warning, and no clues that would lead to that conclusion.
  • Didn’t elaborate on the twist itself, it seemed almost like an afterthought.
  • Instead of giving me a desire to read the next book in this series, annoyed the (cannot say word in public) out of me.

That ending certainly should have been handled better! I also noticed that a part of the plot which I feel should have been showcased more faded out along the book, with only a few real mentions. It definitely took a backseat to the search for Glandower. What was this underrated plot point? The prediction of Blue killing her love if she kisses him! Throughout the course of the book, despite small hints at the beginning, Blue didn’t really start to fall in love with anyone (besides thinking they were kind of cute.) In retrospect, it surprises me that this wasn’t featured more. I’ll admit, I didn’t notice at first because I was so sucked into the other character’s problems. This book makes you really want to know what’s going on, and I know that I was more involved with Adam once I had the whole picture of what he was going through.

West-Rim[1]

Re-Readability: Medium to High. I will read this again, though I might skim over the ending.

Quotes

“Fate,” Blue replied, glowering at her mother, “Is a very weighty word to throw around before breakfast.”

“It’s a hard thing to hold a civil conversation after recalling that one party has used a Taser on the other, so both of them finished the walk in silence.”

“Blue was awfully fond of her father, considering she’d never met him.”

Find This Book On: Barnes & Noble/Amazon/Goodreads

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Raven Boys”

Leave a Reply

