Quips & Quotes: Quoting The Book Thief (Or Death, Take Your Pick)

I have to tell you, The Book Thief is one of my favorite books. It’s one of the few books that has ever made me cry into my pillow. It is so emotional, so well written, so unique. It is also narrated by Death. Seriously. I mean it. And he can be pretty… well, there is no way to describe Death. So I might as well just give you some of his best quotes.

“They say that war is Death’s best friend, but I must offer a different point of view on that one. To me, war is like the new boss who expects the impossible. He stands over your shoulder repeating one thing, incessantly: “Get it done, get it done.” So you work harder. You get the job done. The boss, however, does not thank you. He asks for more.”

“I’ve seen so many young men who think they are running at other young men. They’re not. They’re running at me.”

“Whoever named Himmel Street certainly had a healthy sense of irony. Not that it was a living hell. It wasn’t. But it sure as hell wasn’t heaven, either.”

“There was no one to really argue with, but Mama managed it expertly every chance she had. She could argue with the entire world in that kitchen, and almost every evening, she did.”

“In the spiteful stakes, I should also say that Frau Holtzapfel was thorough with her spitting, too. She never neglected to spuck on the door of number thirty-three and say, “Schweine!” each time she walked past. One thing I’ve noticed about the Germans: They seem very fond of pigs.”

 This is just a few of many. Which quote is your favorite?

Leave a Reply

