Book Review: Seizure

Name: Seizure

Author(s): Kathy Reichs and Brendan Reichs

Series Standing: Book two (Virals series)

*This review may contain spoilers if you haven’t read the previous book*

What It’s About: Tory and her friends are back, and in deep trouble. Due to monetary issues and a nasty public image problem, LIRI (the facility where all the Virals’ parents work), is shutting down. This threatens to split the group apart and leave them alone in their quest to learn about and control their powers. But Tory has a plan. Solve the financial crisis by finding Anne Bonny’s long lost pirate treasure. She drags the boys into this scheme, which leads them all around the area following the clues Anne left behind. But their search piques the interest of several other treasure hunters. Treasure hunters who will do anything to have the treasure for themselves. Even if it means killing.

My Review: Fast paced, suspense, good writing, humor, I can’t find fault with this book! Kathy and Brendon Reichs have done their writing magic again, and let me tell you, I couldn’t put this book down if I tried. Just one of the many things I loved about this book was the way the authors incorporated science and history, making it part of the main plot. Just because I could, I did some research, and it turns out both Anne Bonny and her buddy Mary Read were real! Lets face it, I’m a complete and utter geek, so the way they seamlessly fitted stuff like that in there makes me smile. Also, Tory and her buds are smart. They do their research. And they figure out treasure maps that nobody else could. But that doesn’t mean they’re perfect. Tory may kick butt, but she’s impulsive, and makes mistakes now and then. Just builds her character though. In the end, you’re always going to root for her. All the Virals had me laughing out loud with their sarcasm. The suspense always had me quickly flipping the pages. I would recommend this book to anyone as long as they’ve read the first book in the series.

Re-Readability: Very High. I’ll be visiting this one again for sure!

Quotes

“I got an email from a Nigerian prince.” Shelton kept his face straight. “Apparently I just send him my bank account info, and he deposits a bunch of money. Can’t see how it could go wrong.”

“But we could be rich!” Hi whined. “Super rich! Buy-Ferraris-just-to-wreck-them rich! We could own a freaking NBA team!”

“I turned and whispered to Chance. “Read a book. Bridget Jone’s Diary is on my shelf. You’ll love it.” I shut the door on his groan.”

Find This Book On: Barnes & Noble/Amazon/Goodreads

Leave a Reply

