Book Review: Timebound

Name: Timebound

Author(s): Rysa Walker

Series Standing: Book one (The CHRONOS Files)

What It’s About: After moving in with her somewhat strange grandmother Katherine, Kate’s life takes a turn for the weirder… and more dangerous. It turns out Katherine is from the future; a time-traveling historian who got stuck in the past after her partner went rouge. Now his meddling with the timeline puts Kate’s family, and her very existence, at stake. In his mad quest for power, he murders Katherine in the past, which should erase any existence of Kate (and her family). But she, Katherine, and Connor (her assistant) have been protected by special medallions that make time travel possible. Now Kate is trained to travel back to the 1890s and correct the timeline. But will she succeed? Or survive?

My Review: FINALLY! I finally found a time travel book that doesn’t confuse or disappoint me! This book was, to put it simply, awesome. Great writing, great story, great romance, and I could actually understand what was going on. I think the way Saul (the bad guy) chose to obtain power was really interesting and unique.The only problem I had with it was how soon Kate and Trey became a couple. It seemed to be meet one day, kiss the next. But Trey was SO loveable I easily cast that complaint aside. There was a hint of a love triangle, but it didn’t overwhelm the book. For once, the whole “complicated romance” thing faded into the background. This book set itself up for a sequel, and there HAS to be one, but it didn’t end in a cliffhanger. In fact, I finished this book with a sense of satisfaction. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a book with a bit of history, but not historical fiction.

But it doesn't take over the story.
But it doesn’t take over the story.

Re-Readability: Very High. Go buy this book now. It’s worth it.

Quotes

“Do you have a lot of books?” I asked. Dad snorted as he slathered some cream cheese on his bagel. “Katherine’s collection puts Amazon to shame.”

“I put the book down by the computer and rubbed my eyes. “This is the world’s most boring version of the Travel Channel. And the History Channel. Combined. And I don’t much care for either of those.”

“I tentatively  bent a corner down and was surprised to see the odd paper pop back up, unwrinkled. I tried to tear a small piece from the edge, to no avail. A few quick experiments later, I had determined that you couldn’t write on the paper with ballpoint pen, pencil, or marker. Water beaded right off, even though it didn’t feel laminated. Chewing gum stuck momentarily, but it peeled up quickly and didn’t leave any residue. Within a few minutes, I had decided that the stuff was just plain indestructible – except for fire, perhaps, but I couldn’t try that on the Metro.”

 Find This Book On: Barnes & Noble/Amazon/Goodreads

Leave a Reply

