Bookish Survey: All The Colors Of The Rainbow

Red

Name a fictional character that made you super mad: No doubt about it, I’m going with Peyton (A.K.A. the Demon) from the Geek High series (by Piper Banks.) That woman INFURIATES me! She is the definition of evil stepmother. She actually suggested rhinoplasty for Miranda’s birthday gift. Grrr…

Orange

Name a book that stands out of a crowd: History Decoded: The Ten Greatest Conspiracies Of All Time (by Brad Meltzer.)This book is very interesting. It’s on my (mental) list of most unique nonfiction books, and it has removable documents! And the thing is, the author isn’t some tinfoil-hat-wearing nutcase who tells you that aliens have secretly brainwashed us, or some rant like that. He presents valid arguments for each conspiracy, and even tells us to take everything with a grain of salt. (Though to tell you the truth, he found SO much evidence on the D.B. Cooper case, I truly believe he discovered who it was.) The JFK assassination has so much confusion surrounding it that it gets it’s own countdown! *snicker*

SHOUTOUT TO THE AUTHOR: I need more conspiracies! Please, please, please make a companion book! Are there any conspiracies surrounding Watergate? I’d love to hear about that.

Yellow

Name a book that made you happy: Timebound (by Rysa Walker.) I swear, I have been on an unofficial quest to find good time travel books. Timebound included, the total tally is two (the other book being Waterfall by Lisa Tawn Bergren.) I know it isn’t much but finding another T.T. book of quality makes me so happy!

BTW: I’m open to any suggestions for good books that you may have.

Green

Name a book about the world we live in: The Elements: A Visual Exploration Of Every Known Atom In The Universe (by Theodore Gray.) This isn’t the kind of book you read end to end, but that’s actually one of it’s perks. Each atom gets it’s own page or two, and they’re STUFFED with wonderful pictures and information. It has a picture of liquid oxygen. LIQUID oxygen. Am I the only one who is amazed by that?

Blue

Name the last book that made you cry: The Book Thief (by Marcus Zusak.) But I’ve actually been in the mood for a tear-jerker lately, so I’ve got several books on my TBR pile that will hopefully bring on the tears (that sounds so wrong.)

Indigo

Name an author that needs more recognition: Steve Sheinkin. I have never gone wrong with one of his books. (I’ve read them all except the graphic novels.)

SHOUTOUT TO THE AUTHOR: Remember John Burns from your book on the Civil War? The War Of 1812 veteran? Well, I realized that I know next to nothing about the War Of 1812. Could you please write something about that? I promise I would read it. (You might also want to look into the Hatfield and McCoy feud. It seems up your alley.)

Purple

Name a book that is very deep: I’m going to have to repeat books on this one and say (again) The Book Thief.The. Holocaust. Nuff’ said.

Book Cover Rainbow

A cover for every color of the rainbow.

Leave a Reply

